The epistle to the Hebrews is a study in contrast, between the imperfect and incomplete provisions of the Old Covenant, given under Moses, and the infinitely better provisions of the New Covenant offered by the perfect High Priest, God’s only Son and the Messiah, Jesus Christ.  Included in the “better” provisions are:  a better hope, testament, promise, sacrifice, substance, country, and resurrection.  Those who belong to the New Covenant dwell in a completely new and heavenly atmosphere, they worship a heavenly Savior, have a heavenly calling, receive a heavenly gift, are citizens of a heavenly country, look forward to a heavenly Jerusalem, and have their names written in heaven.

One of the key theological themes in Hebrews is that all believers now have direct access to God under the New Covenant and, therefore, may approach the throne of God boldly (4:16; 10:22).  One’s hope is in the very presence of God, into which he follows the Savior (6:19, 20; 10:19, 20).  The primary teaching symbolized by the tabernacle service was that believers under the covenant of law did not have direct access to the presence of God (9:8), but were shut out of the Holy of Holies.  The book of Hebrews may briefly be summarized in this way:  Believers in Jesus Christ, as God’s perfect sacrifice for sin, have the perfect High-Priest through whose ministry everything is new and better than under the covenant of law.

Lesson 1:  Introduction to Hebrews    Download

Lesson 2:  God Has Spoken (1:1-4)  Download

Lesson 3:  Jesus Is Superior to Angels (1:5-14)   Download

Lesson 4:  Understanding the Warning Passages   Download

Lesson 5:  Warning Not the Neglect Salvation (2:1-4)   Download

Lesson 6:  Lower Than the Angels – Tasting Death (2:5-9)   Download

Lesson 7:  Bringing Many Sons to Glory (2:10-18)   Download

Lesson 8:  Excursis on the Person of Christ   Download

Lesson 8a:  Questions on the Person of Christ   Download

Lesson 9:  The Greater Glory of Christ the Son  (3:1-6)   Download

Lesson 10:  The Wages of Disobedience and Unbelief (3:7-19)   Download

Lesson 11:  Believers’ Enter God’s Rest (4:1-13)   Download

Lesson 12: The Throne of Grace (4:14-16)   Download

Lesson 13:  Jesus Christ, Our High Priest (5:1-10)   Download

Lesson 14:  Dull of Hearing Milk Drinkers (5:11 – 6:3)  Download